Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Japeth selects C-Stan as top pick in PBA ASG Draft

Christian Standhardinger was selected first overall once more in the PBA All-Star Game Draft on Monday night at the TV5 Media Center in Pasig.

The Barangay Ginebra big man will be participating in the 2024 ASG as its top pick after being chosen by teammate Japeth Aguilar, who will be serving as one of the team captains in the midseason spectacle to be held in Bacolod.

Opposing captain Mark Barroca, on the other hand, used his first pick on reigning seven-time league MVP June Mar Fajardo as the former teammates with San Miguel went 1-2 in the All-Star Draft for the second consecutive time.

To be coached by Tim Cone, Team Japeth will also feature 2021 league MVP Scottie Thompson and last year’s All-Star Game MVP Paul Lee.

Calvin Oftana, Jamie Malonzo, Chris Newsome, Don Trollano, Marcio Lassiter, Arvin Tolentino, Maverick Ahanmisi, Tyler Tio, Stanley Pringle, and three-time All-Star Game MVP Terrence Romeo complete the squad.

Team Mark, on the other hand, also includes Jason Perkins, CJ Perez, Robert Bolick, Jio Jalalon, Ian Sangalang, Calvin Abueva, Jayson Castro, Gabe Norwood, Ricci Rivero, Cliff Hodge, Juami Tiongson, and Nards Pinto.

Barroca’s squad will have 15 players as the veteran playmaker picked two-time PBA MVP James Yap, who garnered the most fan votes in Bacolod.

Meanwhile, it’d be Team Greats versus Team Stalwarts again in the Rookie-Sophomores-Juniors Game, featuring the league’s up-and-coming stars.

Brandon Ganuleas-Rosser headlines the Team Greats of Ginebra assistant coach Patrick Partosa, while newly-minted champion Kyt Jimenez banners Team Stalwarts, which SMB deputy Peter Martin will coach.

#ReadMore  Pasig Chooks, Melbourne iAthletic advance to Manila Challenger main draw

Also part of the Team Greats are Javi Gomez de Liano, Kenneth Tuffin, Jerrick Ahanmisi, Justin Arana, Ralph Cu, Andrei Caracut, RK Ilagan, Alec Stockton, Gian Mamuyac, James Laput, and Shaun Ildefonso

Joining Jimenez in Team Stalwarts, on the other hand, are John Amores, Stephen Holt, Keith Datu, Fran Yu, Adrian Nocum, Kim Aurin, JM Calma, Joshua Munzon, Anton Asistio, Santi Santillan, and Keith Zaldivar.

The PBA All-Star Bacolod 2024 is scheduled for March 23-24 at the University of St. La Salle Coliseum.

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

You May Also Like


Michael Phillips scored 22 points and grabbed 12 rebounds, while La Salle-Ecooil crushed Keanzel Basketball, 144-75, on Thursday to secure its place in the...


Jerrick Balanza’s reunion with Aldin Ayo has come to an unexpected end after just 15 months. The seasoned forward has bid farewell to Converge,...


Rain or Shine’s ascent from the ashes of a winless start in the PBA Philippine Cup can be attributed to the integral play of...


Magnolia head coach Chito Victolero is glad to have Calvin Abueva back in the fold after missing his services due to a PBA-imposed one-game...


Mark Barroca struck the dagger as Magnolia outlasted NorthPort in a down-the-wire encounter, 104-97, to lay its two-game skid to rest in the PBA...


San Miguel head coach Jorge Gallent sees a different Terrafirma team now as the two crossed paths in the PBA Season 48 Philippine Cup...


Mo Tautua’a was the unlikely hero San Miguel needed to escape the upset-hungry Terrafirma, 113-110, and remain unbeaten in the PBA Season 48 Philippine...


Javi Gomez de Liaño harbors no ill feelings toward Ginebra after beating the team that was supposed to be his first home in the...