Connect with us
[adinserter block="13"] [adinserter block="3"]

Foton sweeps dazed Meralco in Grand Prix opener



As exciting as the first game of the Philippine Super Liga Grand Prix was, the second game of the day showcased a team that was still trying to find its identity. The Foton Tornadoes bamboozled a lost Meralco Power Spikers team in straight sets, 25-23, 25-22, 25-16, at the Alonte Sports Arena, Binan Laguna.

Meralco committed a blistering 31 team errors in the three sets of action that they played. Foton, on the other hand, outspiked their opponents, 36 to 27. The Tornadoes, were able to distribute the ball more, notching 20 excellent sets to Meralco’s 16.

Meralco was able to keep things close in their first set of action, but their inability to string consecutive points, as well as their numerous errors proved to be too much for the team to overcome.

Meralco seemed to find their bearings in the second set, keeping it close until the end. Down two points at 20-18, Meralco jumped on a 3-0 run care of an off the block point by import, Christina Alessi, and back-to-back service aces from Mika Reyes. Unfortunately for the Power Spikers, that was the last points that they would score for the set. The last five points of the set came from a Lindsay Stalzer kill, Royce Estampa ace, and three Meralco errors.

Foton continued their steady pace in the game, scoring six straight points to take a 17-9 lead in the third set. Alessi attempted to bring Meralco back into the game, scoring twice off the block, but she was answered each time by a Foton point. Stalzer cemented Foton’s win, scoring five of the team’s final six points to bury the Meralco Power Spikers.

Meralco gets a chance to rebound from this match when they face RC Cola next, at the San Juan Arena, on October 15, at 4:15 in the afternoon. Foton, on the other hand, puts their undefeated record on the line when they go against the AFC champion, Petron, on the same date at 6:15.

The scores:

Foton (3) – Stalzer 18, Messing 9, Araneta 7, Orendain 5, Estampa 3, Perez 2, General (L)

Meralco (0) – Alessi 10, Kullerkann 8, Reyes 4, Cruz 4, Mercado 3, Fajardo 2, Baron 1, Dy 1, Macandili (L)