Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Filoil: Manansala shines as NU eliminates EAC, seals top seed

A big second quarter surge propelled National University to a 89-77 win over Emilio Aguinaldo College in Group A of the 2022 FilOil Ecooil Preseason Cup, Wednesday in San Juan City.

The Bulldogs remained undefeated, 7-0, securing their top spot, while the Generals stayed at sixth place with 3-4.

The Bulldogs employed a 31-11 second period to turn a 19-19 deadlock into a 52-30 blowout at the half.

The lead grew to its biggest at 22, 64-42, off a lay-up by Charles Libang with 3:09 left in the third quarter.

Entering the final frame, 70-53, Emilio Aguinaldo College outscored National University by five, 24-19. The quartet of Allen Liwag, Carl Luciano, Ralph Robin, and Art Cosa provided the telling buckets to pace the Generals in the game.

However, John Clemente, Germy Maghinay, Robert Minerva, Kenshin Padrones, John Galinato Andre Casinillo, Charles Libang and Patrick Ramos scored a total of 18 points in the fourth quarter to keep EAC at bay to seal their victory.

“Samin ano naman, di naman natatapos yung game sa first quarter, first half e. So it always end up naman sa fourth quarter talaga up to the last buzzer so alam ko naman yung mga boys talagang ano yan once sinindihan ko sila, they will put some effort naman talaga to bounce back whatever their mistakes. Icorrect lahat nung mistakes. That’s why ayun nga naging okay din yung turn around nung game namin,” said NU head coach Jeff Napa.

John Galinato lifted the Bulldogs finishing with twelve points, an assist and a steal in just 13:22 mins of action. Ian Manansala and John Clemente each scored a total of 10 points with the former registering two boards and two rebounds and the latter with two boards and a steal.

#ReadMore  Filoil: San Beda notches breakthrough win, routs rival Letran

Allen Liwag finished with a game-high of 18 points along with seven rebounds and an assist. Ralph Robin, JC Luciano, and JP Maguilano were the other double-digit scorers finishing each respectively with 15, 13, and 10.

National University will next face University of Perpetual Help System – DALTA tomorrow at 11:00 the FilOil Ecooil Arena in San Juan City.

Emilio Aguinaldo College will take on Mapua University on August 20 at 9:00 A.M. also in the same venue.

The Scores:

NU 89 — Galinato 12, Clemente 10, Manansala 10, Padrones 7, Casinillo 7, Palacielo 5, Figueroa 5, Libang 5, Mahinay 5, Ramos 4, Tulabut 4, Tibayan 4, Malonzo 4, John 4, Enriquez 2, Minerva 1.

EAC 77 — Liwag 18, Robin 15, Luciano 13, Maguliano 10, Cosa 9, Gurtiza 6, Balowa 2, Umpad 2, Bacud 2, Tolentino 0, Ad. Doria 0, Bajon 0, An. Doria 0, Dominguez 0.

Quarterscores: 19-19, 52-30, 70-53, 89-77.

The entire 2022 Filoil Ecooil Preseason Cup will stream LIVE on Smart Sports Facebook page

Written By

An aspiring football athlete driven at producing media content for digital and emerging media platforms; writing for a change and investigating news and current affairs with unwavering dedication and steadfast passion.

You May Also Like


Ateneo used its patented third quarter run to beat National University, 77-60, and gain a piece of the early lead Wednesday night in the...


University of Perpetual Help System DALTA overcame the gritty Emilio Aguinaldo College, 55-54, in the NCAA Season 98 Seniors Basketball Tournament on Tuesday at...


Kean Baclaan of National University is one of the most anticipated rookies heading to UAAP Season 85. In the preseason leagues, the 5-foot-8 spitfire...


National University hacked out a 77-70 victory over University of the East with a fourth quarter barrage in the UAAP Season 85 men’s basketball...


College of St. Benilde showed mastery over Emilio Aguinaldo College, taking a 73-61 victory, in the NCAA Season 98 Seniors Basketball Tournament on Saturday...


Far Eastern University Season 84 Recap For the eighth straight season, the Tamaraws made the Final Four of the UAAP in Season 84, where...


The UAAP Season 85 press conference just happened yesterday, and each team fielded questions about their upcoming campaigns. Not surprisingly, the soundbites have revolved...


National University will no longer have Janjan Felicilda, Reyland Torres, Shaun Ildefonso, and Issa Gaye for UAAP Season 85. And it will also miss...