Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


De Guzman, Alfafara, Bagunas, Abdilla headline 18-man pool

Men’s Volleyball National Team head coach Sammy Acaylar cut his initial 25-man pool down to 18 earlier today at the Arellano Law School campus.

Former College of Saint Benilde star Johnvic De Guzman was named skipper weeks before the announcement. Other NCAA standouts like Bonjomar Castel, Relan Taneo, Jack Kalingking, and Herchel Ramos will join De Guzman in the team.

The UAAP’s record-holder for most points in a season, Mark Alfafara made the cut together with other UAAP stars Bryan Bagunas, Geuel Asia, Edward Camposano, Greg Dolor, Peter Quiel, and Reyson Fuentes.

Air Force’s Louwie Chavez, Jeffrey Malabanan and Ranran Abdilla, and southern standouts John Carsacal, John Sarscena, and Dave Cabaron round out the pool.

The pool will be further trimmed down by August right before the 2017 SEA Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

#ReadMore  B.League: Dwight Ramos, Toyama crumble late as Mikawa avoids sweep
Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like


Philippine Army showed nerves of steel in the crucial fourth set to turn back PGJC-Navy in five, 25-23, 19-25, 20-25, 25-22, 15-12 on the...


Barring any conflict with the NCAA Management Committee, Louie Ramirez is set to play simultaneously for both University of Perpetual Help System-DALTA in the...


Imus-Ivy Tuason Photography scored a successful Spikers’ Turf debut with a tight four-set win over the young Santa Rosa City, 25-22, 28-26, 29-31, 25-16,...

Beach Volleyball

Brazilian Joao Luciano Kiodai was added to the Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) national team program to handle the beach volleyball squads, according to...


National University remained immaculate after sweeping University of Perpetual Help System DALTA, 25-22, 25-22, 25-16, to enter the finals of the 2022 V-League Men’s...


Reigning NCAA champion University of Perpetual Help System DALTA arranged a semifinals clash with defending UAAP titlist National University after beating Arellano University in...


Cignal and North Cotabato arranged a men’s championship showdown after posting contrasting semifinals victories in the Philippine National Volleyball Federation Champions League at the...


Imus City pulled off a 20-25, 25-22, 25-23, 25-17 reversal of National University-Pasay to advance to the Philippine National Volleyball Federation Champions League men’s...