Connect with us

Beach Volleyball

Barbon-Eslapor keeps UAAP Women’s Beach Volleyball crown in UST



Tiebreaker Times Barbon-Eslapor keeps UAAP Women's Beach Volleyball crown in UST Beach Volleyball DLSU News UAAP UST  UST Women's Volleyball UAAP Season 82 Women's Beach Volleyball UAAP Season 82 Tin Tiamzon Justine Jazareno Gen Eslapor DLSU Women's Volleyball Babylove Barbon

University of Santo Tomas’ Babylove Barbon and Gen Eslapor withstood the tough De La Salle University pair of Tin Tiamzon and Justine Jazareno in the Finals to complete another perfect season and bag a fourth straight women’s title, Sunday in the UAAP Beach Volleyball Tournament at Sands SM By The Bay.

UST claimed their seventh women’s championship, and the first in the post-Sisi Rondina era.

Barbon, who had to fill a huge void left by Rondina to cement the Tigresses’ dynasty, was named the MVP.

“Sobrang saya kasi yung goal namin ay ma-defend ang crown. Nagawa po namin siya. Inalay po namin yung game sa UST, sa mga taong naniniwala sa amin, at lalong lalo na kay ate Sisi,” said Barbon.

“Ilang din years siyang nag-champion kaya ayaw naming mabigo siya. Iniwan niya ang team na laging nagtsa-champion, kaya kailangan naming ituloy na laging champion,” the Quezon, Bukidnon native added.

The Tigresses needed to outlast the Lady Spikers 21-14, 20-22, 15-12, in the Finals opener.

UST survived a gallant De La Salle stand in the extended opening set. They then withstood the Lady Archers’ second-frame uprising to fashion a 28-26, 21-18 victory and emerge as queens once more.

“Sobrang galing din nila po,” said Barbon of the Lady Spikers, who finished bridesmaids for the second straight year.

No doubt, Barbon and Eslapor’s connection worked wonders for the Tigresses, who extended their winning run to 29 games dating back from 2016.

“May chemistry talaga po kami kasi ilang off-season leagues kami na sinasalihan. Doon kami kumukuha ng idea kung paano maglaro dito sa UAAP,” said Barbon.

READ  UP Fighting Maroons survive FEU rally for first win

Jazareno took the Rookie of the Year honors.