Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


National U reaches landmark 30th win at Adamson’s expense

Winning three straight championship is something. Doing it in a dominant way is another.

Nonetheless, the reigning UAAP men’s badminton champions National University Bulldogs made it look easy, as the program reached a milestone 30th consecutive tie victory after disposing Adamson University, 5-0, Saturday morning at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

The feat is fittingly opened by the person who had been in all these wins. Former Rookie of the Year and current skipper Alvin Morada commenced the rout after stopping Kevin Fabros in just two games at 21-9, 21-18. It was a hitting clinic especially in that opening set, before the fourth-year standout shook off the Falcon in the second.

Another former top rookie in Keeyan Gabuelo doubled the lead for the men from Bustillos, taking the second singles match in three sets. After Johnrick Macabenta pulled the rag off the third-year Bulldog, the latter was just unstoppable in the next two games. The match ended at 23-25, 21-9, 21-9 for Gabuelo.

It was then up to Mike Minuluan and Christian Cuyno to seal the achievement. The two young bloods were just dominant, ending their match against Elben Concha and Joshua Antonio in just 27 minutes, 21-14, 21-11.

Morada teamed up with Alem Palmares to take the second doubles match at 21-16, 21-19 over Fabros and Macabenta. Afterwards, Minuluan completed the sweep, finishing off Elben Concha, 21-12, 21-16.

The win officially made it 30 straight for Morada and the rest of Bulldogs of past and present. Reaching such feat, Morada was just pleased. “Masaya po na nakuha namin yung 30 straight,” he shared.

#ReadMore  Bulldogs crush Warriors in prelude to Ateneo showdown

Nonetheless, the NU captain also admitted, “Pero may kasama pong pressure. Dapat siguro isipin namin is yung kung ano yung lalaruin muna, bago isipin yung buo.”

“Tsaka hindi pa tapos [ang trabaho] hangga’t wala pang four-peat,” he stated as a matter of fact.

The still unscathed Bulldogs (3-0) will take on the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles (2-1) in a rematch of last year’s Finals, Saturday morning at 8am. On the other hand, the Falcons (0-4) will take on the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons (2-1) on the same day and time.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


After finishing dead-last in UAAP Season 79, Jema Galanza vowed to do whatever it takes to lift Adamson University to the top in her...


Just three days before the Christmas of 2017, Ben Mbala made an announcement that left the Lasallian community shocked, to say the least.  The...


A new set of volleyball athletes has joined Jia Morado’s fundraising drive to assist the country’s frontliners amid the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. After Morado...

2020 Badminton Asia Team Championships

Reigning Asian Games champion Jonatan Christie made amends for his group phase defeat, sending top-ranked Indonesia into the semifinal after completing a 3-0 sweep...

2020 Badminton Asia Team Championships

Powerhouses Chinese Taipei and Korea flexed their experience to take separate five-match sweeps of the Philippines and Kazakhstan in the men’s and women’s tournaments,...

2020 Badminton Asia Team Championships

Host Philippines received some luck during the redrawing of groupings for the 2020 Badminton Asia Manila Team Championships, which takes place from February 11-16,...

2019 SEA Games

SMASH Pilipinas crashed out of contention after absorbing defeats against regional powerhouses in the quarterfinal stage of the 30th Southeast Asian Games badminton tournament,...

2019 SEA Games

The two pairs of the Philippine national team in the men’s and women’s doubles events split off after a mix of victories and defeats...