Connect with us


UAAP fetes gen champs, athlete-scholars, honors MVPs, second sem athletes



Tiebreaker Times UAAP fetes gen champs, athlete-scholars, honors MVPs, second sem athletes ADMU AdU Basketball Chess DLSU FEU Football Judo News NU Swimming UAAP UE UP UST Volleyball  UAAP Season 82 Rochelle Lalongisip Regina Jurado Raven Alcoseba Leah Lopez Joaquin Santos Gabriel Salazar Fr. Richard Ang OP Denise Pidlaoan Darius Diamante Cleofe Magsayo Clare Castro Cholo Anonuevo Chloe Daos Camille Clarin Allaney Doroy Aljireh Fuchigami

Despite having to cancel Season 82 due to the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the University Athletic Association of the Philippines still made sure to close the season the right way — by honoring all the student-athletes who made the league successful. 

During the online closing ceremony hosted on the social media platforms of ABS-CBN Sports, the league crowned University of Santo Tomas as the general champions for both the collegiate and high school divisions.

The Growling Tigers won their 44th overall crown with 209 points after ruling five events — namely men’s and women’s beach volleyball; men’s and women’s table tennis, and men’s judo. They also had five silver and three bronze finishes.

On the other hand, the Tiger Cubs bagged its sixth straight general championship — 21st overall — with 179 points.

“The very successful 82nd UAAP season had just concluded. The UAAP is proof that excellence in sports continues to thrive and flourish in university campuses. And that the rigorous training our athletes undergo and the unwavering support of the community, coaches, fans, and friends make them the champions they really are,” said UST rector Fr. Richard Ang, OP.

“At this point, I would like to extend my heartfelt congratulations to all UAAP athletes for doing their very best, and whose triumph in the UAAP inspires all. We are mighty proud of you.”

Fifteen student-athletes were also honored with the Athlete Scholar awards. Winners were Adamson’s Rochelle Lalongisip (girls’ volleyball) and Cleofe Magsayo (softball); Ateneo’s Joaquin Santos (boys swimming) and Chloe Daos (women’s swimming); DLSU’s Raven Alcoseba (boys swimming) and Darius Diamante (men’s football); FEU’s Cholo Anonuevo (boys basketball) and Clare Castro (women’s basketball); NU’s Camille Clarin (women’s basketball) and Allaney Doroy (girls’ chess); UE’s Denise Pidlaoan (girls judo) and Leah Lopez (women’s judo); UP’s Gabriel Salazar (men’s judo); and UST’s Aljiren Fuchigami (men’s football) and Regina Jurado (girls’ volleyball).

READ  Top rookies Dave Ildefonso, CJ Cansino remain focused on team goal

There was no Athlete of the Year awarded.

Taking its place was the league honoring all 1,214 student-athletes from cancelled events collegiate volleyball, collegiate football, collegiate baseball, collegiate softball, track and field, lawn tennis, and 3×3 basketball.

Also recognized were the Most Valuable Players from each completed event.

Performing in the online event were Iñigo Pascual, Ylona Garcia, The Itchyworms, and Sponge Cola.

<-- Ad Tag: Mobile Stretch -->