Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UAAP 85 MBD: NU sweeps Ateneo in Finals preview

National University finished the qualifying round of the UAAP Season 85 men’s badminton tournament unscathed in five ties after fashioning out a 5-0 sweep of Finals rival Ateneo de Manila University, Saturday at the Centro Atletico Badminton Center in Cubao, Quezon City.

The Blue Eagles decided to rest its main guns Arthur Salvado, Lyrden Laborte, and Bryan Bernardo, while the Bulldogs still opted to use its main lineup.

National team stalwarts Solomon Padiz Jr. and Julius Villabrile secured NU’s 55th straight tie win since UAAP Season 85 with a comprehensive finish against Cody Torres and Jacinto Maliwat in two games, 21-9, 21-9, in the first doubles match.

The Bulldogs started with their rookies Lanz Zafra and Mark Anthony Velasco taking care of the first two singles matches. Zafra dominated Torres, 21-4, 21-7, while Velasco took down Justine Vanzuela, 21-9, 21-7.

With the tie secured, the two then teamed up for the second doubles victory over Charles Bagasbas and Vanzuela, 21-14, 21-17, before Padiz Jr. completed the sweep against Miguel Busuego, 21-11, 21-13, in the final singles rubber.

“Actually, happy pa rin kasi yung streak namin tuluy-tuloy pa rin. Hindi rin naman kami mag-rerelax today kasi yung finals is tomorrow. Like what we always say sa mga players namin, until matapos yung UAAP, dapat all-out kami,” NU assistant coach Kevin Dalisay said of the win.

The Bulldogs and the Blue Eagles will duel for the championship on Sunday at 8 a.m.

On the other hand, University of the Philippines snapped its two-tie slide after a 3-2 victory against University of Santo Tomas in a prelude to their third-place playoff.

#ReadMore  UAAP 85 WVB: UST averts pre-Final Four disaster, outlasts UP in 5

Kervin Llanes made amends on his first singles defeat, partnering with Charles Alcarpio for the second doubles win over Lanz Ramirez and Ron Sarmiento, 21-17, 22-20.

The Tiger Shuttlers took the upper hand with Sean Dela Cruz over Llanes, 21-19, 23-21, but Jelo Albo leveled the tie with a comprehensive work of Lennox Cuilao, 21-18, 21-12. Albo and Jason Vanzuela then put the Fighting Maroons in the driver’s seat with a 21-12, 21-16 win in the first doubles over the erstwhile unbeaten pair of Janzen Panisales and RJ Galve.

UP, though, might miss Alcarpio in the third-place playoff as he suffered a left Achilles tendon injury in the third singles match.

The other tie saw De La Salle University ending its season with a win against Adamson University, 5-0, with Eljee Gavile and Yuan Tan taking the victory in the first doubles match, 21-16, 22-20.

Bless Linaban and James Estrada made it 2-0 earlier with wins in the first singles matches. Linaban defeated Harold Bonilla, 21-13, 19-21, 21-19, while Estrada won over CL Garcia, 21-11, 21-16.

The Fighting Maroons and the Tiger Shuttlers will battle for the bronze at the same time.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


Ateneo de Manila University had a chance for payback against then six-time UAAP men’s badminton champion National University in Season 85, but the latter...


After ending National University’s 60-tie winning streak last Wednesday, Ateneo de Manila University made sure to finish the job four days later. Behind a...


NATIONAL University relied on its doubles pairs before Mark Velasco dominated in the decider to complete a massive 3-2 reverse sweep of University of...


The longest active winning streak in the UAAP has been broken. Ateneo de Manila University halted the run of the reigning seven-time UAAP Men’s...


National University extended the UAAP’s longest current winning streak to 60 by defeating fellow semifinalist University of the Philippines, 3-2, on Sunday at the...


Defending, seven-time champion National University and University of the Philippines turned down their respective foes to secure two of the Final Four berths in...


University of the Philippines secured a share of the lead in the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Badminton tournament after clinching a 3-2 victory over...


Seven-time defending champion National University initiated its title defense with a dominant 5-0 sweep of Adamson University on the opening day of the UAAP...