Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2019 SEA Games

Schooling punches Tokyo 2020 ticket, PH takes SEAG men’s 4x100m silver

CAPAS, TARLAC — The NCC Aquatics Center was rocking on Friday evening as a living icon was able to attain his target, while a quartet of local heroes made silver shine like gold.

Joseph Schooling, a 2016 Olympic gold medalist, ended his slump by winning the men’s 100m butterfly while hitting the Olympic mark. He finished with a time of 51.84-seconds — 0.12 seconds faster than the mark.

“I don’t think that I would have done as fast if I didn’t have these guys next to me. I’ve had three events and two best times. I’m just glad to have accomplished what I set out to do,” said Schooling.

Zheng When Quah of Singapore finished with a time of 51.87 seconds to cop the silver.

Though Schooling’s crew was able to win the 4x100m freestyle as well, it was the Filipinos who shone bright.

The young quartet of Luke Gebbie, Jean-Pierre Khouzam, Sacho Ilustre, and Jarod Hatch took home silver in the event with a time of 3:22.32.

Schooling, Zheng, Mikkel Lee, and Yi Chua ruled the event with a time of 3:16.82.

“I mean for me, it’s all of us. It’s our first SEA Games. I think for me personally, I only had to think about my swim, and that’s what I think made us to get where we are right now,” said UAAP Season 82 Swimming MVP Sacho Ilustre about facing Singapore.

Remedy Rule won bronze in the 200m freestyle event with a time of 2:01.64. Meanwhile, Chloe Isleta achieved the same feat in the 200m backstroke, clocking in at 2:18.48.

#ReadMore  Nicole Tiamzon continues heater run as BanKo seals playoff berth at Bali Pure's expense

Earlier in the day, Malaysia’s Ooi Taze Liang and Chew Yi Mei won the Men’s Synchronized 3M Springboard with a score of 398.16. Malaysia’s Ng Yan Yee then ruled the Women’s 3M Springboard with 298.90 points.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like

2019 SEA Games

The financial books of the 30th Southeast Asian Games have been front and center of the upcoming Philippine Olympic Committee elections. Clint Aranas and...

2019 SEA Games

The Philippine Southeast Asian Games Organizing Committee (PHISGOC) assured that its financial report on the 30th SEA Games was on the verge of completion...

2019 SEA Games

The gold medal winners of the 30th Southeast Asian Games banner the long list of citations to be handed out during the SMC-PSA (Philippine...

2019 SEA Games

Almost PHP 45 million has been allocated for the cash incentives of 182 national coaches as the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) started releasing their...

2019 SEA Games

The man behind the success of Team Philippines in the 30th Southeast Asian Games will have his share of the limelight in the SMC-PSA...

2019 SEA Games

Count on the Filipino athletes to deliver when the going gets tough. Amid the distractions and doubts hovering over Team Philippines’ preparations and campaign...


They say that there’s no ‘I’ in team, and these squads showed it for 10 long years. Consistency at its finest, as they say....

2019 SEA Games

As the dust settled in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games, the Philippines bagged 149 gold medals to win the overall championship. Though still 34...