Connect with us

2019 SEA Games

PWNVT figures in Thailand friendlies for SEA Games buildup



Tiebreaker Times PWNVT figures in Thailand friendlies for SEA Games buildup 2019 SEA Games News Volleyball  Shaq delos Santos Roselyn Doria Philippine Women’s National Volleyball Team Mylene Paat Majoy Baron Maddie Madayag Kath Arado Kalei Mau Jovelyn Gonzaga Jia Morado Iris Tolenada Eya Laure Dawn Macandili Ces Molina Alyssa Valdez Alohi Robins-Hardy Aiza Maizo-Pontillas Aby Marano 2019 SEA Games - Volleyball
Photo from LVPI

The Philippine Women’s National Volleyball team is set for a series of international friendly matches as part of the buildup to the 30th Southeast Asian Games.

“Sa ngayon mas more on… Makapag-start muna kami ng training, especially ngayon available na yung mga players,” National team head coach Shaq Delos Santos bared.

Ito na yung hinihintay namin.”

After arriving in Thailand on Saturday afternoon, the 12-day intensive training camp began for the National team.

The Nationals first had a session of volleyball drills and strength conditioning this Sunday. They will then face off against Thailand’s caliber teams in a span of seven days.

The Filipinas will square off against Thailand’s Under-23 squad on September 9, Monday for the first of five friendlies. They will follow with match against Southeast Asia’s powerhouse in Thailand’s seniors’ team on September 10 at the Sports Authority of Thailand (SAT) Gym.

The Nationals will then figure in a rematch against the U-23 team of Thailand on September 11, before taking on Bangkok University the day after.

On September 15, the national team will take on Japan’s V-League runner-up Toray Arrows, who also bagged the championship of 2018-19 All-Japan Kurowashiki tournament.

“Happy kami kasi makaka-start na kami ng training namin, which is [ma]tagal na namin gusto mangyari,” Delos Santos beamed.

The first batch of members of the national team who arrived in Thailand last Saturday are skipper Aby Maraño, Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Mylene Paat, Majoy Baron, Ces Molina, Roselyn Doria, Dawn Macandili, Kath Arado, Kalei Mau, and Alohi Robins-Hardy.

The second batch of members in Alyssa Valdez, Jia Morado, Maddie Madayag, Eya Laure, Jovelyn Gonzaga, and Iris Tolenada will join the rest of the team on September 15.

READ  Philippines notches first Asiad win in 36 years