Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Bright Akhuetie, Grace Irebu headline awarding ceremony

For the first time in the UAAP Seniors Basketball division, both the Men’s and Women’s Most Valuable Players are foreign student-athletes.

Bright Akhuetie of the UP Fighting Maroons and Grace Irebu of the UST Growling Tigresses were crowned as the top individual performers for the season.

Akhuetie is the first Fighting Maroon to win the top individual plum in 32 years. The last Fighting Maroon to win the crown was Eric Altamirano back in 1986.

Akhuetie, who transferred to UP from Perpetual two years ago, accumulated 82.5 Statistical Points coming from his norms of 18.9 points, 14.6 rebounds, 2.8 assists, and 1.1 steals.

For her part, Irebu is the first non-NU student-cager to win the plum since UAAP Season 76 (Camille Sambile, FEU) to win the top individual plum in the league. Moreover, she is the first Growling Tigress in 10 years to be crowned as MVP since Marichu Bacaro.

Composing the All-UAAP teams are Alvin Pasaol (UE – 74.57 SP), Juan Gomez de Liano (UP – 63.85), Justine Baltazar (DLSU – 62.28), and Jerrick Ahanmisi (ADU – 58.38) for the men’s; and NU’s Jack Animam (79.71), UST’s Sai Larosa (76.07), Adamson’s Mar Prado (74.28), and FEU’s Clare Castro (71.35) for the women’s side.

Angelo Kouame of Ateneo and Tantoy Ferrer of UST were the top freshmen of the year.

The Men’s Basketball division also had special awardees.

Sean Manganti of Adamson was adjudged the Appeton Most Improved Player and PsBankable Player of the Season; while UP’s Juan Gomez de Liano was the Manulife Playmaker of the Season and Milo Nutri Up “Up Your Galing” awardee. The graduating Adamsonian pocketed a total of PHP 150,000, while the UP sophomore will bring home PHP 100,000 (50K cash, 50k GC).

#ReadMore  Lervin Flores puts on a show to bring home Slam Dunk crown
Written By

You May Also Like


Chris McCullough led the way as Strong Group secured another dominant win in the 43rd William Jones Cup, defeating Future Sports USA, 112-90, on...


Converge is more than willing to wait for Justine Baltazar to fulfill his obligations first before making his much-anticipated PBA debut. The first overall...


Justine Baltazar’s PBA debut will be delayed. The top pick of Sunday’s Season 49 Draft will have to finish his contractual obligations with Pampanga...


The first overall picks in the country’s top professional leagues are both Lasallians. On Sunday, Justine Baltazar was selected as the first overall pick...


As expected, Justine Baltazar and Sedrick Barefield went 1-2 in the 2024 PBA Draft. Baltazar was picked by Converge as the top overall selection...


Strong Group-Pilipinas continued its impressive start in the 43rd William Jones Cup, defeating the Brisbane South Basketball League (BSBL) Guardians 91-67 for its second...


Unable to join the PBA Draft Combine due to their commitments with Strong Group, hopefuls Caelan Tiongson, RJ Abarrientos, and Dave Ildefonso used their...


Team B1 ruled the PBA Season 49 Draft Combine mini-tournament after beating Team A3 in the Final, 61-44, Thursday at the Ynares Sports Arena...